I’m Sorry…What?

Standard

Image

 

So I’ve never exactly had the greatest luck or the smoothest of men enter my life, but the most recent one is possibly the strangest but somehow most charming thing to ever happen to me.  After only two previous dates with…let’s call him “Jake,” I was feeling pretty confident that this guy liked me.  He had even snuck in a kiss on our second date.  On our third date, Jake was either feeling extremely confident or extremely confused.  I was excitedly telling him why I liked him so much.  I could tell he was happy with what I was saying and he decided to return the favour and let me know what he liked about me.  A big grin started on his face.  He began, “I love you so much because…” and trailed off.  A look of complete horror crossed his face.  I’m sure he was wondering what on earth he had just said.  He knew it was too late to take it back.  I could see him wrestling with the urge to get up and walk out of my dorm room.  I don’t think I helped his anxiety waiting for my response when all I could do was look at him waiting for a “just kidding” or at least an awkward laugh and an apology for accidentally saying the L word.  After realizing that I wasn’t about to say anything all he could say was “Oh my God…” and put his head in his hands.  “I am so sorry.  I don’t exactly know how to explain what just happened.  If you want me to leave right now I can do that.”  I couldn’t help it.  I started to laugh.  “No, don’t leave!” I said.  “If you are trying to scare me away it’s not going to work.”  That must have appeased him because he asked me if I was sure and then smiled and stayed awhile.  Boys…they worry so much.

 

 

Leave a comment